Coming Soon – New Blog Directions

I’m going to be taking this blog in different direction in the near future.

Rather than continue with the same old news about my soon to be released Novels or collections and / or rants about the Indie writing world, writing tips and all that, I have decided to dedicate part of my time to highlighting some of my writing here on the blog.

This won’t be fiction or poetry or some other creative writing stuff.

Think Chuck Klosterman IV – Author of ‘Fargo Rock City’ – ‘Sex, Drugs & Cocoa Puffs’ etc.  If you haven’t read his work, well do so or tune into my blog for my lame ass attempt at a Canadian Expat in Mexico’s imitation.

The reasoning for my shift in focus?

To be honest, I’ve completely run out of thing to say about writing and the world of self publishing and Amazon Ebooks.
Here´s a prime example of the kinds of nonsense that one deals with within the Indie World.

I received an invitation to join an Indie Book Promotion group.  I was slightly intrigued (with the usual doubts due to my previous experiences) but I replied that I was interested and I got this reply.

“Just to make sure you understand how this works, let me briefly explain it to you

Books are posted on a special (secret) page on Facebook. when a book is posted every member will buy the book during a 24 hour time frame. The person who is posting the book will repay everyone who buys the book. We have been doing this for 7 months and it has been very successful. The best part is you don’t have to do any of the work. The administrator does it all for you. All you do is check the page everyday and buy every book that is posted (normally 1 to 3 books are posted) It will take no more than 5 or 6 minutes. Within 24 hours or less you are reimbursed for your purchases. As administrator I guarantee that you will get repaid for your purchase. Please feel free to ask me any questions.”

images

So basically a Payola scam.  This person assured me in another part of the correspondence that it was all legit and not in violation of any Amazon rules.  This I highly doubt.  (notice the grammar and punctuation in the previous paragraph.  Without a doubt, this grammar challenged dork would need to cheat to get his book sold.)

These kinds of groups and individuals, in true baser Human Nature mode, have found a way to short change the customer and corrupt the Indie Self Publishing world.  Their idea is to pump up their sales artificially in order to have a higher ranking on Amazon and in the process, get their books into the public eye.  Then, with a great cover and a slick book blurb, they may make some legitimate sales.  Sadly, their cheater system probably works and Amazon has no way to distinguish these pseudo-sales from the real thing.

By what merit should a book become a best seller within the Indie world?  Or make any sales at all by that matter?  Based on the entertainment value?  The quality of the prose?  The book’s ability to connect with its readers?

NONE OF THE ABOVE. Sadly, the answer in many cases has nothing to do with these elements.
14248543

Indie Authors are much more interested in SALES.  It looks to me as if they could give a rat’s patootie about the quality of their work.  And this lack of interest in quality prose and stories is rampant across the world of Indie Self published authors.  I have yet to see much more than a superficial discussion about good writing in my the and a half years since I started out down this road.

However, I do have a caveat to add to this post.  I have just recently purchased a bevy of adoring fans via my Mastercard on sycophants.com and as soon as they start with the worshipping (or is that whoreshipping?) I plan to retract this post and start laughing all the way to the bank.

Look for the first example of my writing and biting social commentary / satire in the very near future.

David Gordon Burke
Find my books here!

Leave a Reply

