Twitter Analytics – Can the Self Published Indie Author use it to their Advantage?

twitter-analytics.png

Ok, let´s talk about a powerful tool – Twitter Analytics. To be up front from the beginning, I am in the process of learning this tool and figuring out how to use the information it provides about my twitter account to allow me to carve out a stronger position within my NICHE. After all that is my overall goal.

To recap, in a previous post I talked about ¨The 1000.¨ No, it´s not a new series on Netflix. 1000 is the target goal for any creative person.  1000 true, die hard fans that will buy everything you produce is enough to sustain a lifestyle according to some theories. Let´s remember that we are talking about $2.99 Ebooks, not $1000 impresionist oil paintings so I guess it all depends on how many books you produce and how high a lifestyle you wish to live. I´m a simple guy looking to suplement
his income with a steady trickle or flow of Amazon Kindle bucks. I´m  not greedy.

But I digress.

In everything we do, we have to keep in mind who we are trying to appeal to and what our goals are – I am trying to appeal to two different segments / Niches.
I have two different Twitter accounts.

@DBWriterTeacher
@InglesalP3

The first account is for promo of my English fiction / memoir / non-fiction books that to date have exclusively had to do with dogs. Think Jack London goes to Acapulco. That’s me.

The second account is for promo of my ESL (English as a Second Language books for Spanish speakers.

So right away I have two totally diverse Niches with their own potential customers. And these customers have needs, interests etc. and if I  am able to provide for those needs and interests, they will be much more likely to jump on the bandwagon and become one of my much needed 1000 true fans.

So my goal is to provide for those need and interests.

For the moment I have one BIG recommendation. If you are not checking out your twitter account via Twitter Analytics you need to start doing that.
https://analytics.twitter.com/

Once you get to the site you will be able to log into your specific twitter account and then you will see your statistics.

The first way I started to put this tool to work for me was by checking which tweets got the most interest. I am assuming that the collective interests of my followers must have some common thread.

Example – Since I tend to deal with writers and readers and all people interested in literature, I like to do my promos with some comedy or humorous bit about books or famous writers etc. and include a link to my books.
Or some comedy bit relative to the theme or topic material of the book.

For some reason Dictionary and Thesaurus jokes are a big hit.
My latest was “Sticks & stones may rupture my chassis but quarrels will never pummel me. I cannonaded his cranium with a Thesaurus.” Cute.
I got 11 retweets on that one in about 2 hours and expect more.  Got around to looking at how many followers the retweeters have … that ad could possibly be seen by over a million people. This is what twitter is for.

So when you open Analytics you get a first page which is a general  break-down of your account’s performance, month by month (28 Day summary section.)

It show how many tweets, what your tweet impressions were, how many people visited your profile, how many times you were mentioned and your increase in followers for the month. Beside each of these concepts there is an arrow up or down to indicate how you are doing compared to other months.

You then see the break-down for that month.
Top Tweet
Top Mention
Number of Tweets for period
Profile visits
Number of new followers
Tweet impressions
Mentions
Your Top follower (being the follower with the biggest numbers)
Your Top Media tweet – A blog or other media tweet you have uploaded.
images

Great. All of this info can go into the brain pan and hopefully help you devise strategies to repeat past victories and not repeat the tweets and other promos that had little effect.

Now, across the top of the page you have navigation
Home
Tweets
Followers
Twitter Cards
Videos

I have yet to figure this all out but I do take a look at the tweets area.  For each tweet you can see how well it performed. I imagine that ‘Impressions’ is how many times people clicked on the tweet. Engagements looks like the number of retweets and then engagement rate is a percentage / clickers vs. retweeters.

So overall, which tweets are working and why? Good to know.

Click followers and you get a ton of info about your peeps. This info? I don’t know how you are going to use it to your benefit. I am actually a bit disappointed since within all the info about my followers, there isn’t a smidgen related to dogs. I’m screwed. Some readers and a lot of writers but no DOG PEOPLE.  Bummer.  Of course my Niche is very vague and ambiguous. This will be a lot more effective for people who are building their following strictly and directly from Niche related sources.
If you are a ‘Life Hacker’ and your entire strategy is built around selling self help Life Hacker DVD’s and you harvest all your followers from other Life Hacker Niche Peers, you are going to rock with the insights you can gain from this section.

This secion also gives you lifestyle stuff, their principal language, buying habits, even their wireless provider.

The next two sections are Twitter cards and Videos which I do not use and as such have no opinion on.

So, how are you going to use this tool to devise your Twitter Marketing Strategy?
No, seriously, that was a direct question to you, the reader. Please comment and share if you have some ideas.
I for one am going to, first and foremost, try to refine my harvesting of followers to find my NICHE related followers. More
book readers, reviewers etc. Also, more DOG PEOPLE.

I am going to keep doing blogs that get people’s attention with a joke or humor.

And I’m going to keep checking back with Analytics to see how my account is growing and performing.

Good Luck.

David Gordon Burke
Find my books here.

Leave a Reply

