Close

Author Interview on Writing Forums

I have completed my first in-depth interview for the #1 Writing Forum on the internet.
http://www.writingforums.com/forum.php

Here is an excerpt from the interview.

Author Interview: David Gordon Burke

Our next WF author interview is with prolific author, David Gordon Burke. David joined WritingForums.com in September 2013 and is one of our esteemed Veteran Members. David’s passion for dogs and animal welfare inspired both fiction and non-fiction books dealing with real issues related to our treatment of man’s best friend.

David also writes tutorials on any subject in which he has expertise.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	david gordon burke.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	84.9 KB 
ID:	9685

David, please tell us a little about yourself and your background.

I’m Canadian by birth and Mexican by choice. I moved to Mexico about 20 years ago, mostly to avoid the brutal Canadian winters. Mexico is a great place to establish a semi-retired lifestyle. It took me years to get the hang of life here and longer to acquire citizenship. I lived a nomadic existence moving back and forth between the two countries for a while but now I’ve mostly cut ties to Canada and consider myself Mexican.

I grew up surrounded by extremely talented people – artists, writers, musicians, actors etc. I won’t drop any names but if a person from Ottawa, Canada made it onto the international stage, I probably knew them (with the exception of Alanis Morrisette …. She went to my High School but I never knew her.) These people set the bar pretty high for me which in many ways has been both a blessing and a curse.

My first attempts at writing were in my teen years while hanging around comic book artists. Those people went on to found Aircel comics which at one point was huge and the principal competition for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turles. I went my own way and followed my other love which was music. Of course music is a young guy’s dream so now I am back to writing.

What inspired you to write your latest book, Mexican Mutts Tequila Pups & Chili Dogs: True Stories of the Dogs of Mexico?

The principal thing that got me moving on Mexican Mutts was the fact that I had been diagnosed with cancer. I had by that time written a memoir and a novel and I thought to myself, “Is that it? I finally get started in the writing game and now I’ve got cancer and I’m going to check out? I’d better hurry up and write something else in case I don’t beat this thing.”
There was no planning or premeditated purpose or goal behind the book except that which I found while I was researching for it. I started out in Jan. 2014, just looking to see what kind of background I could gather from the internet. There wasn’t much but I put together a dozen or so newspaper style reports that had to do with incidents that had happened across the country involving dogs.

I had planned to intersperse these reporter / journalist style pieces between a series of short stories. As the spring and summer passed, the topic heated up and dogs and animal welfare became a hot topic in Mexico.

What is the book about?

The book is all about my observations on the treatment of dogs in Mexico. As I said, it has some short, one or two page pieces that are very much written in the style of a reporter. This was my attempt to prove to myself that I could have been a good journalist or a nasty tabloid writer if I had gone that route. Then there are the fictionalized accounts of things I have seen in person, experienced, read about or seen on television. Obviously, the fact that Mexico is center stage for the book doesn’t mean that these aren’t themes that are played out in every country in the world. It’s a universal topic.

You can read the full interview at the below link.

http://www.writingforums.com/private.php?do=showpm&pmid=749086

Very cool and thanks to Pip for asking me to participate.

David Gordon Burke
Find my books here.

Leave a Reply

Back to top
