News & a New Review

The news is that I have finally broken my writer’s block.  It was really a stall and not a block.  I am one of those people that needs to have all their ducks lined up before getting started.  I had a few gaping plot holes in the story I am working on and I didn’t have a title that POPPED.  That’s taken care of now.  My goal is to write a Novella in the range of about 40,000 words. I figue with a minimum of 1000 words per day, an easy goal, I should see a first draft by the middle of October at the very latest.

I am not revealing the name until the cover is done.

In the meantime, I got another review for my latest.
untitled

4 Stars – Didn’t want it to end – Beautiful stories, August 9, 2015

Mexican Mutts, Tequila Pups & Chili Dogs – True Stories of the Dogs of Mexico

Full disclosure – I received a free Kindle edition of this book in return for my review.

This is a collection of short pieces – some newspaper style articles; others short stories or essays, which cover some aspect of canine life in Mexico.

David Gordon Burke writes and handles the material well. Skillfully using the newspaper article format to establish the routine nature of animal abuse in Mexican life, he writes touchingly about living with abuse, sometimes from the canine point of view, sometimes from the abuser. But although the book addresses a serious problem, the emotional tone of the stories covers more than anguish. There is humor, comedy but most of all, the joy that comes from friendship and living life.

So, I’m entering 4 stars as my review. Why? David Gordon Burke is a compelling writer. At the end of every short story, I found I was a little sad that the tale was winding down. At one point, I was bored, but quickly brightened up when I realized the dog had not appeared yet. Ha! Not to worry, it would be fine. He pulled that trick off in story after story.

Well, why not 5 stars? Aw, shucks, I think Lois McMaster Bujold is 5 stars. Or Diane Ackerman, since we speak of creative non-fiction. This Amazon star system is pretty inflexible and doesn’t deal well with major award winners. Also, you have to leave some room for the writer to grow – as an incentive. Finally, he is a better writer than I am – I’m jealous.

That’s all that’s happening today.  Have to get to it.  See y’all down the road.
David Gordon Burke
Find my books here. 

Leave a Reply

