Archive Post – The Mystery of writing Mystery Fiction

I think writing a Mystery Novel may be one of the hardest things to do as a Novelist.

I have been struggling with my latest project for more than a month – it’s just not working.  So, I have decided to employ the methods described in this book.

Writing and Selling Your Mystery Novel by Hallie Ephron

I don’t usually go out on a ledge to flog or promote someone else’s work but this book is definitely making a difference.

In the meantime, I have gone ahead with a short story collection.  It’s all true stories (or more or less based on true stories) about dogs in Mexico.

I really got worked up over the weekend and wrote the first short story / novella.  It turned into about 25,000 words.  It’s about the father of a Mexican family that goes to extreme lengths to get rid of the family dog.  Part comedy, part tear-jerker.  I really like the way it turned out and I’m glad to be writing again.

So what am I going to call this collection?  Aztec Dogs?  Mexican Mutts?  Tequila Puppies?
I hope to put together 10 / 15 stories before I publish the collection.  Hopefully, by then I will be ready to get to work on the next novel.

Meanwhile, I am starting to get some good responses from the few people who have read LOBO.  It’s gratifying to know that you have a secret weapon out there just waiting to be discovered.  Thanks to the people who have said they enjoyed (or are enjoying) the book.

David Gordon Burke
Find my Books here at Amazon.  

Leave a Reply

