Archive Post – A New Plan

So I have hit a complete brick wall with my latest project.  I realize that there is a deeper story waiting to be told so I have gone back to the drawing board.

While the majority of the elements that I laid out in my plan remain intact, the deeper story mirrors a very famous work by an author whose name will remain a mystery.  The juicy thing about this novel is that if I ever get it written and succeed in laying clues along the way, some people may see the parallel.  It should be interesting.

But for me, this means redoing my book layout and a ton of research.  I think it will be worth the effort.

“Copy from one, it’s plagiarism; copy from two, it’s research,” John Milton.

So the style I will be trying to acheive is a Pastiche.

From Wiki:
pastiche is a work of visual art, literature, theatre, or music that imitates the style or character of the work of one or more other artists.  Unlike parody, pastiche celebrates, rather than mocks, the work it imitates.

However, this may not be an exact example of what I hope to acheive.
One book that stands out as an example of what I am planning would be Lorenzo Carcaterra’s 1995 novel ´Sleepers´- this novel was heavily influenced by The Count of Monte Cristo.  So much so that the characters read the book during their time in the reformatory.  The second half of the novel deals with their grand scheme to exact revenge on the people that wronged them.  Thus the comparison.

Bridget Jones’s Diary bu Helen Fielding is influenced by and has a clear parallel to Pride and Prejudice.

The Story of Edgar Sawtelle By David Wroblewski  is like Macbeth with dogs.

How many times has a variation of Beauty and the Beast been done?  Wouldn´t The Phantom of the Opera qualify?

And then there is one of my childhood favorites – The West Side Story which is a reworking of Romeo and Juliet.

So there it is, a new direction for my next novel.  In the meantime I am also doing a completely new project.  This time no plan whatsoever.  I am trying for about 500 to 1000 words a day.  This has no title and nothing laid out on paper.  I am just winging it or as the pantsers say, flying by the seat of my pants.  The core idea is of a guy who is deported from the US and comes home to Monterrey, Mexico to find that he no longer recognizes his hometown and how he gets drawn into the Gangs and Drug war.  This one influenced completely by true life events as I have seen them play out over the last decade.

So that´s what I´m working on and what is going through my mind these days.  That and a ton of marketing.

David Gordon Burke
PS – Thanks to everyone who drops by and reads my ranting nonsensical posts.  It is appreciated.
Look for some Author spotlights in the coming days and weeks.
Find my books here at Amazon!

Leave a Reply

